ICCHP 2014

14th International Conference on Computers Helping People with Special Needs

July 09-11, 2014; Pre-Conference July 07-08, 2014

Université Paris 8 Vincennes-Saint-Denis; 2, Rue de la Liberté, 93200 Saint-Denis; France


The 6th Roland Wagner Award was handed over to
The TRACE Centre of the University Wisconsin-Madison

Logo TRACE Centre  for their outstanding achievements in advancing Assistive Technologies and Accessibility over the last decades. Read more about the background of the TRACE Centre.

The award was handed over to the founder and director or the TRACE Centre, Dr. Gregg Vanderheiden.

Photo of Award Ceremony

Handing over the Award: Roland Wagner (Founder ICCHP), Ronald Bieber (General Secretary OCG), Art Karshmer (Chair Award Nomination Committee), Gregg Vanderheiden (TRACE Center)

Photo Gregg Vanderheiden holding the award

Gregg Vanderheiden, Director of the TRACE Centere, receiving the award.


The 5th Roland Wagner Award was handed over to
Harry Murphy and Joachim Klaus
Portrait Harry Murphy, Award Winner 2010    ICCHP Award Trophy    Joachim Klaus, Award Winner 2010

The nomination committee decided to split the 2010 award. Harry Murphy and Joachim Klaus are awarded for their life long dedicated work to establish services for people with disabilities. These services became models for initiatives around the globe. In addition Harry Murphy and Joachim Klaus are recognised for their support of ICCHP since its beginning.

Harry Murphy is the founder and former director or the Centre on Disabilities at California State University at Northridge (CSUN), USA, and the CSUN conference. Since 2002 he serves as General Chair of ICCHP.

Joachim Klaus is the Managing Director of the Study Centre for Visually Impaired Students (SZS) at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Germany which has become a model for many other support centres in Europe and beyond. Since its beginning he is part of the Programme Committee of ICCHP, he organised the conference in Karlsruhe in the year 2000 and acts as publishing co-chair since 2000.


Winner 2008, George Kersher  Award 4, ICCHP 2008

George Kersher and the Daisy Consortium for outstanding developments for print disabled people with world wide impact. 

Winner 2006, Larry Scadden with wife and daughter  Award 3, ICCHP 2006

Larry Scadden for dedicated work for equal rights and opportunities for people with disabilities having world wide impact and work at the National Science Foundation.

Paul Blenkhorn Award 2, ICCHP 2004

Paul Blenkhorn for scientific work and software development in the field of Assistive Technologies, in particular to make them available in developing countries. 

Judy Brewer  Award 1, ICCHP 2002

Judy Brewer, WAI-W3C for their engagement and development for guidelines and tools for web accessibility. 

Roland Traunmueller  Special Award 2006

A special award was handed over to Prof. Dr. Roland Traunmüller, one of the former heads of the Institute Integriert Studieren on the occasion of the 15th anniversary celebration of the institute. 

A Min Tjoa   Special Award 2003

A special award was handed over to Prof. Dr. A Min Tjoa, one of the founders of ICCHP, on the occasion of his 50th birthday.

Roland Wagner   Award 0 and initiating the award by the Austrian Computer Society 2002

Was handed over to Prof. Dr. Roland Wagner on the occasion of his 50th birthday. 


ICCHP is a series of biannual scientific conferences in the field of ICT/AT for people with disabilities run in co-operation with the Johannes Kepler University, Linz and the Austrian Computer Society

© 2007 - 2013 Institut Integriert Studieren, Johannes Kepler Universität, Linz